Minimum Wage Increases For 2018

More and more states, counties, and cities are enacting their own Minimum Wage legislation—be sure you are up to date with the below changes for 2018!

Be sure to check the laws for each location as some may be dependent on employer size, total profit, total employees, contributions to medical plans, or other factors. These charts are sorted by effective dates.

JANUARY

State Old Rate New Rate Effective Date
Alaska $9.80 $9.84 1/1/2018
Arizona $10.00 $10.50 1/1/2018
California $10.50 $11.00 1/1/2018
Colorado $9.30 $10.20 1/1/2018
Florida $8.10 $8.25 1/1/2018
Hawaii $9.25 $10.10 1/1/2018
Maine $9.00 $10.00 1/1/2018
Michigan $8.90 $9.25 1/1/2018
Minnesota $9.50 $9.65 1/1/2018
Missouri $7.70 $7.85 1/1/2018
Montana $8.15 $8.30 1/1/2018
New York $9.70 $10.40 12/31/2017
New Jersey* $8.44 $8.60 1/1/2018
Ohio* $8.15 $8.30 1/1/2018
Rhode Island $9.60 $10.10 1/1/2018
South Dakota $8.65 $8.85 1/1/2018
Vermont $10.00 $10.50 1/1/2018
Washington $11.00 $11.50 1/1/2018

 

Locality Old Rate New Rate Effective Date
Flagstaff, Arizona $10.50 $11.00 1/1/2018
Oakland, California $12.86 $13.23 1/1/2018
Mountain View, California* $13.00 $15.00 1/1/2018
Sunnyvale, California $13.00 $15.00 1/1/2018
El Cerrito, California $12.25 $13.60 1/1/2018
Cupertino, California $12.00 $13.50 1/1/2018
Los Altos, California $12.00 $13.50 1/1/2018
Palo Alto, California $12.00 $13.50 1/1/2018
San Jose, California $12.00 $13.50 1/1/2018
San Mateo, California $12.00 $13.50 1/1/2018
Richmond, California $12.30 $13.41 1/1/2018
Santa Clara, California $11.10 $13.00 1/1/2018
Milpitas, California $11.00 $12.00 1/1/2018
Minneapolis, Minneapolis $10.00 1/1/2018
New York City, New York $11.00 $13.00 12/31/2017
Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester Counties, New York $10.00 $11.00 12/31/2017
Albuquerque, New Mexico* $8.80 $8.95 1/1/2018
Bernalillo County, New Mexico $8.70 $8.85 1/1/2018
SeaTac, Washington* $15.34 $15.64 1/1/2018
Seattle, Washington $15.00 $15.45 1/1/2018
Tacoma, Washington $11.15 $12.00 1/1/2018

 

JULY

State Old Rate New Rate Effective Date
Oregon 10.25 10.75 7/1/2018
Maryland 9.25 10.10 7/1/2018
Washington DC 12.50 13.25 7/1/2018

 

Locality Old Rate New Rate Effective Date
Emeryville, California 15.20 15.69 7/1/2018
Los Angeles, California 12.00 13.25 7/1/2018
LA County, California 12.00 13.25 7/1/2018
Malibu, California 12.00 13.25 7/1/2018
Milpitas, California 12.00 13.50 7/1/2018
Pasadena, California 12.00 13.25 7/1/2018
San Francisco, California 14.00 15.00 7/1/2018
San Leandro, California 12.00 13.00 7/1/2018
Santa Monica, California 12.00 13.25 7/1/2018
Urban Growth 11.25 12.00 7/1/2018
Non-Urban 10.00 10.50 7/1/2018
Minneapolis 10.00 11.25 7/1/2018
Montgomery County 11.50 12.25 7/1/2018
Chicago 11.00 12.00 7/1/2018
Cook County 10.00 11.00 7/1/2018

 

October

Locality Old Rate New Rate Effective Date
Berkeley, California 13.75 15.00 10/1/2018

 

* These locations have conditional minimum wage laws:

  • Mountain View, CA: Only applies to hospitality and transportation workers;
  • New Jersey: $7.87 for businesses that make less than 500k per year;
  • Albuquerque, NM: $7.95 if the employer pays over $2,500 per year for benefits
  • Ohio: $7.25 for businesses that make less than 350k in sales;
  • SeaTac, WA: For hospitality and transportation workers;
  • Seattle, WA:
    • For large employers (501+ employees) who do not meet requirements for medical coverage: $15.45;
    • For large employers (501+ employees) who pay for “silver” or higher level benefits per employee: $15.00;
    • For small employers (less than 500 employees) who do not pay at least $2.50 per hour in medical benefits: $14.00;
    • For small employers (less than 500 employees) who do pay at least $2.50 toward medical benefits: $11.50